India changes name of visa on arrival to eVisa

India Airport

The Indian government changed the name of its new tourist visa programme as there was growing criticism that it was confusing.

The Indian visa on arrival that was rolled out to more countries late last year will now be called the eTourist visa.

From five countries in 2010, India expanded the programme to cover 44 nations, including the USA, Australia, Japan, Germany, Singapore and Russia. Sri Lanka has now been added to the list.

The requirements for an Indian tourist visa remain the same as outlined in the older programme.

Only nine Indian airports can handle passengers arriving with the new visa – including Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Bangalore, Kochi, Goa and Thiruvananthapuram.

Related Articles

We are a commercial website. If you use our service to get an e-Visa, you will have to pay our service fee and an Indian Government Fee. We will give you advice and support to help you with your e-Visa applications. You will have your e-Visa updated frequently, and get a decision on your e-Visa from us. If you do not use our service, you can apply in person at the Indian embassy in your country or by using the official Indian Government website. The cost of this is lower, but you do not get a refund if your e-Visa application is rejected.